Citra runs super slow in Animal Crossing: New Leaf

I have not tested this with any other game, but while playing Animal Crossing - New Leaf: Welcome Amiibo my speed usually rests idol at about 70%/100% speed. This is average, and can sometimes get as bad as 40% and as well good as 80%, sometimes 90% if I’m lucky. This mostly happens when in outside areas, but can also happen inside (though inside areas are notably better most of the time). My main concern is if this is a hardware issue or a software issue. I’ve tried the game on multiple resolutions, which seemed to change nothing. I also have a tower and tried installing more RAM, which didn’t seem to change matters either. The game runs and doesn’t freeze, but the speed is just god awful and annoying to deal with, making the game basically unplayable. I’m a beginner when it comes to tech, so any bit of help is super appreciated!
I am willing to upgrade any hardware if necessary, and I can install or take out RAM at will. I just want to get to the root of this problem, especially if I’m going to be throwing my money and time at something I don’t know will fix the issue… Max RAM is 32GB and min is 8GB.

System Information

• Operating System: Windows 7 Professional
  • CPU: Intel® Core™ i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz 350GHz
  • GPU: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
  • Citra Version (found in title bar): Citra Nightly 1226
  • Game: ACNL - Welcome Amiibo (Animal Crossing: New Leaf - Welcome Amiibo v1.5)
  • Screenshot of Issue (include the full Citra window including titlebar):

More spec screenshots (in case I missed anything):

Diagnostic Log
citra_log.txt (62.0 KB)

System Information for Support

Client Version                                Nightly 1226 HEAD-322f575
OpenGL Vendor                                 ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL Renderer                               AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
OpenGL Version                                3.3.1
Enable Hardware Renderer                      [x]