Dumping Assets - Textures

To preface, I’m an artist in the gaming industry with years of experience, and I’ve always wanted to create a texture/model upres pack for some of my favorite games. My first goal is to bring the color pallet of OoT closer to the original, as the 3DS version is super saturated compared to the original.

I’ve managed to get OoT3D working on Citra, and I’d like to dump the textures of various games in order to create texture packs. I have tried the “texturipper_1.1/1/2” application, but it immediately fails to dump anything at all. Other than that, I have been unable to find solutions to dumping files.

Are there any current solutions to dumping textures, and then loading them via Citra? Same goes for models, is it possible to dump the models in a standard format (.fbx, .obj, etc) and then load them back into the engine after modifying them? OoT/MM 3D are kinda blocky in some areas, I want to fix some of those rough edges and embellish the environments.

This is not really a Citra related question unless you wanted a Citra exclusive solution (i.e. game won’t work in other [future] 3DS emulators / real 3DS).

Before I get into the details a bit more, I’d like to warn you that the 3DS has 4 texture units and a programmable pipeline (shaders) which complicates some things.

You can already view the textures which are supplied to a draw call using the “Pica Surface Viewer” in the debug options. You can also export individual textures from that window.
However, there is no standardized way of replacing textures on the fly (yet).

If you know how to code you can easily generate a hash of each texture, save it to disk, and if one already existed, load the version from disk instead [which could be loaded with arbitrary resolution into the GPU surface cache].
Similar about shaders.