Metroid: Samus Returns - possible to upscale?

I’m new to Citra and I am excited to see how well the new Metroid game runs. From showcases I can see that many games like the Zelda and Mario Kart games can be upscaled to beautiful 1080p glory, resulting in clear and crisp graphics. I am trying to up the resolution with Samus Returns but the game becomes more and more pixelated the higher the resolution goes. Am I missing some step? Is there any way to improve the visuals of this game?

Many thanks!

the answer is complicated. in order to upscale this game, citra needs a gpu texture copy implementation, but after working for 20 hours on it, it might just be impossible. I’m not giving up yet, as I’m a big time metroid fan boi and really want it to work great in citra, but I can’t promise anything until its ready.

I see. I hope you make it! Another user seems to be attempting to crack this, b0b_d0e on the Reddit forum (https://www.reddit.com/r/Citra/comments/70ctuu/metroid_samus_returns/), he shared a screen grab of his progress… maybe you two could share discoveries :slight_smile:

I hope you guys make it! Thanks for the contribution to the community! Hopefully we’ll soon be able to play this game in HD glory :smiley:

That’s not another user, that’s @jroweboy haha

oh, lol. Wow. I should have guessed maybe :smiley:

yeah haha jroweboy is my “developer” user name account and b0b d0e is my “gaming” user name account. at one point i wanted to keep them separate, but i kinda gave up :stuck_out_tongue: too much effort.

i’ve been working with some of the other devs on it though (the two people who are most knowledgeable about this area of the code), and it doesn’t seem likely that i’ll be able to finish this sadly. but i’m not going to give up just yet. got a few more things to test. i’ve done a few write ups one why its not likely to be possible, but i don’t feel like doing another write up right now

oh no, please don’t give up :sob: