Portable mode etc

So I’m fairly new to Citra and I haven’t done much else than play the games. I traded with myself a few times which I didn’t have to create a portable mode citra for for some reason, but today that cahnged and it didn’t work anymore. Now I’m trying to figure out what all this portable stuff means, but I can’t find a concrete answer. Can someone briefly say what you’re actually doing? Because I’ve been trying all day and I can’t figure it out.
Thanks in advance

Hello,

A portable install of Citra requires that you download the build directly from Github: https://github.com/citra-emu, you can choose either the Nightly or Canary builds.

Once you’ve extracted the build to your preferred location, you need to create a user folder the in root directory of that portable install. Citra will now use that user folder to store its save data, system files, save states, config settings etc.

I’m sorry but I really dont understand. I downloaded the main citra file and now I have citra-master zip on my pc and I extracted it to the desktop. i don’t know what I’m supposed to do next though.

Nah citra-master.zip is incorrect. Go to the download page: https://citra-emu.org/download/ then click on manual download:

Choose either Nightly or Canary and click on the symbol that corresponds to your OS. Most likely you have Windows, right? It would be the third icon.

Then extract once it’s downloaded and go inside its folder(e.g nightly-mingw folder) and create a folder called user, see screenshot below:

Now Citra is in “portable mode” so all saves, settings etc. will be inside that user folder :slight_smile:

1 Like

I did exactly as you said and I’m fairly certain it worked, but how do I get my save files on that version of citra?

Copy all folders from %appdata%\Citra into the newly created user folder.

1 Like

I got it! thank you so much!